Published On : Sat, Jun 25th, 2016

Anantnag by-polls: Mehbooba Mufti wins by over 10,000 votes

mehbooba_MuftiAnatnag: Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Mehbooba Mufti has won the Anatnag by-polls by over 10,000 votes.

After the four rounds, Mehbooba had polled 8,549 votes followed by Hilal Ahmad Shah of Congress (2,752) and Iftikhar Misger of National Conference (9,526), District Election Authorities said.

Mehbooba is among eight candidates in the bypoll for Anantnag Assembly seat which was necessitated due to death of incumbent MLA and then chief minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed on January 7 this year.

The by-election in Anantnag took place following the death of the then Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, who represented the constituency in the 87-member legislative house.

Sayeed passed away in New Delhi on 7 January after a brief illness. Mehbooba assumed office after being sworn in as the Chief Minister of the PDP-BJP coalition government on April 4.