Published On : Wed, Sep 14th, 2016

Aditya Diddee Memorial Open Snooker Tournament held at CP Club

dsc_0364Nagpur: The much talked about and appreciated Aditya Diddee Memorial Open Snooker Tournament of Orange city which was organized by the closest friends of Aditya Diddee concluded on September 13, 2016 at CP Club. One hundred and twenty eight snooker enthusiasts participated in it for the Coveted Trophy which lasted for 30 days.

As Rose Kennedy rightly said, “It has been said, “time heals all wounds”, I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens, but it is never gone”. The dear friends of Aditya Diddee too have scar tissue over their wounds. Their wounds have not been healed. His memory still lingers in their minds. In order to offer an ode to their dear friend Aditya Diddee, a group of his close friends had organized this tournament which was very successful too.

img_20160913_180936In what could be termed as first time, Central Provinces Club took the initiative to keep the Tournament open for all so that, the otherwise unheard of talents of the cueists of Nagpur city too get the deserving limelight that they deserve. The organizers of the tournament were successful in doing so too, since 7 out of the 8 quarter finalists emerged from the local pool and snooker parlors. In-fact both the finalists were non-members (not members of any of the Clubs of Nagpur), which showed that Nagpur has an immense talent in cue sport waiting to be explored.


img_20160913_210308The finals were played between the top seeded Pawandeep Khokhar and the much talented ‘surprise find’ of this tournament, the unseeded player Bhavesh Vasani.

The finals was best of 9 frames which Pawandeep Khokhar won comfortably (5-0)

Chief Guests for the concluding day of the Aditya Diddee Memorial Open Snooker Tournament were Honorary Secretary of CP Club Girish Dewani, Honorary Joint Secretary of CP Club Manish Sharma, Manohar Tarkunde, Shreeratan Daga and Pradeep Bhatia. The Guest of Honor Farrokh Vazifdar was also honoured with the Life Time Achievement Award by CP Club.

Prizes were given away to the Quarter Finalists including Vishal Sole, Rohit Gandhi, Akash Joshi, Abhinav Nainani. They were awarded with a trophy and Rs 2500/- each. The Semi Finalists including Raju Kamwani and Ashish Chawla were given a trophy and Rs 5000/- each. The Runner-Up Bhavesh Vasani was given a trophy and Rs 15000/-. The winner Pawandeep Khokhar was given a trophy and Rs 25000/-. Highest Break Award of Rs 5000.00 and a trophy was given to Abhinav Nainani who hit the highest break of the tournament (39 points).

Upcoming player of the Tournament award of Rs 5000.00 and a trophy was given to Akash Joshi.

The post-match awards presentation ceremony was conducted by Honorary Secretary of CP Club Girish Dewani and Ujjwal Kothari (Tournament Organizer). They thanked the participants, Chief Guests, Organizers and sponsors for their efforts. The prizes were sponsored by Bindesh Paul, Amit Seth, Vishal Panchmatia, Rajesh Mohta and Nitin Gopalani. They announced that they would be sponsoring this tournament every year henceforth on friendship day that is the first Sunday of August, in the memory of their dear friend Aditya Diddee.

dsc_0368-1The organizing committee consisting of Raju Kamwani (Sub Secretary Snooker), Farrokh Vazifdar, Ujjwal Kothari, Akshay Khetrapal, Brajesh Khemka and Abhishek Rai who worked hard to insure a smooth and fruitful tournament.