Published On : Fri, Mar 29th, 2019

3 burglars, involved in 11 cases of thefts in Mankapur, sentenced to 5-year jail


Representational Pic

Nagpur: The court of Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate on Thursday sentenced three accused to 5-year jail and slapped fine of varying amounts after finding them guilty of committing a series of housebreaking burglaries in Mankapur police jurisdictions. The convicts have been fined total Rs 25000 in all the cases of thefts. The three convicts were involved in total 11 burglaries. If they failed to pay the fine, the convicts will to undergo additional 11 months of jail.

The convicts who are sent to jail are Akash Bapurao Akotkar (21), Amar Ashok Sangode and Sunil Eknath Solanki, all residents of Godhani, Nagpur.

The trio had committed thefts at the houses of Rajeshkumar Sohanlal Pandey, Chandrakant Murlidhar Mokadam, Armin Raman Mehta, Avinash Ramchandra Thote, Rajashri Anil Wadekar, Mohd Firoze Abdul Gaffar, Abhishek Arvind Pande, Dilip Shrikrishna Saigariya, Vinayak Ajabrao Kakde, Subhash Madhukar Makode and Satyendra Nanaji Ramteke in various localities of Mankapur police jurisdiction.

The three convicts had stolen gold-silver ornaments, valuables, cash and also two cars collectively valued at lakhs of rupees. They were arrested on different dates according to the occurrence of crimes and were booked under Sections 379, 380, 454,457, 34 of the IPC. Chargesheets were filed in the court of Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate S G Adke. The investigations were carried out by Police Constable Ravindra Vaidya.

After finding the three accused guilty based on evidence and testimony of witnesses, the court sentenced them to under 5-year jail and also fined them of varying amounts in each case of burglary.

Government Pleader R R Ghate represented the state while Adv Rekha Godbole appeared for the accused.